CJSON::encode() seems to bypass __get() override

Hi,

I’m fairly new to Yii. I have a model class that overrides the __get() magic method to modify the value of an attribute retrieved from the database before it is returned by the class. This seems to work as expected. However, when I return the AR model as a JSON string the value of the attribute is not modified as expected. For example, the __get() override in the model class looks something like this:

class CustomContent extends CActiveRecord

{

public function __get($name)

{

if ($name == 'released')

{

// Always return the value of 'released' in lowercase.

return strtolower(parent::__get($name));

}// if

return parent::__get($name);

}

}

If, in the controller, I have code like this:

$ccAR = CustomContent::model()->find($criteria);

$rel = $ccAR->released;

The value of $rel is always lowercase, as expected.

But if I do the following:

echo CJSON::encode($ccAR);

The value of ‘released’ in the JSON string is as it came from the database - not always in lowercase. The __get() function is bypassed and never called.

Is this how this should work? I can get it to kinda work in the controller by the following code, but it should be in the model so the it is hidden from the controller.

$ccAR->released = $ccAR->released;

echo CJSON::encode($ccAR);

or I can add a function to the model class like:

public function jsonEncode()

{

$arr = $this->getAttributes();

foreach ($arr as $key => $value)

{

$arr[$key] = $this[$key];

}// foreach

return json_encode($arr);

}

Then, in the controller call this function instead of CJSON::encode() like:

echo $customContentAR->jsonEncode();

What is the better solution?

Thanks.

Hi and welcome to the forums!