CForm and CFormModel

Hi,

can someone please explain the connection between CForm and CFormModel?

In general my question is related to the Form Builder. My first idea would be, that once you have the model for your form, you should be able the generate some basic HTML code for your form automatically.

However, according to the documentation, I need to create a CForm in a view file.

This whole thing is very counterintuitive to me. Why would I do such things in the view?

Please note, that I’m new to yii, so some things may be obvious to you which are not to me.

thanks

No, you don’t have to create a CForm in a view file. This isn’t a good approach at all. You should create your CForm object in your controller action and then you can RENDER the CForm in a view with $form->render(). There is a difference. The configuration of a CForm is always done in a controller action (at least it should be done this way) and the form gets rendered by calling a view script to show the form to the user. So display logic and business logic are seperated.

But maybe you are confusing the relationship between CFormModel and CForm. They are not related to each other even if the name makes it look like that. A CFormModel is a model that isn’t filled with data from a database and isn’t inserting or updating data (that’s the only difference to CActiveRecord). It is used for simple logins for example.

You don’t have to use it in combination with a CForm. CForm is a class that simply allows the creation of forms (for logins or models, that doesn’t matter).

I know that it can be really tricky to understand all that and I had a lot of problems too. The really important thing is to distuingish between the several model classes

1. CModel - all the model classes extend this base class

2. CFormModel (extends CModel)- models that hold data in memory only and aren’t used for CRUD operations with a database