can't install yii-user

Hi,

I’m new to yii and I guess I’m missing something very, very basic here, but I’m just following the step-by-step instructions at https://github.com/mishamx/yii-user/blob/master/README.md to install yii-user.

When it comes to:

I get the error:

What am I missing? I don’t even know what a migration is…

I’ve solved it by manually creating a directory “migrations” under modules/user.

However, I’m confused:

• if that directory is needed, why isn’t it included in the package?

• why can’t the tool create it?

• if it’s a file permission issue, then why doesn’t the installation guide mention the file permission requirements? (i.e. make sure this or that directory is writable? it just says “unpack the zip file into…”)

Now I have a strange error at runtime:

YiiBase::include(WebUser.php) [<a href=‘function.YiiBase-include’>function.YiiBase-include</a>]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory

This seems to be caused by this line in the config/main.php:

'user'=>array(

// enable cookie-based authentication

'class' => 'WebUser',

//...

)

But I inserted that because the installation instructions said to. I’m confused…

I have exactly the same problem as the OP. For such an apparently popular extension it’s odd that there’s zero documentation. Even if that command had worked, I still have no idea how to use it :mellow:

I found out the cause of the runtime error.

The installation instructions assume that you have a WebUser class that extends CWebUser.

However, yiic doesn’t create it by default, so you have to create it if you haven’t already. The instructions should mention this requirement, as a freshly created application won’t fulfill it, so it shouldn’t be assumed.

Anyway, I’ve already given up Yii-user completely. With zero documentation, having to figure out everything by looking at the source code, it’s more pain than creating one’s own user management from scratch.