CActiveForm on layouts column1.php

Goodmorning to everyone,

i’m new to yii and i must say it i’m pretty noob with it XD

so today i was trying to create a form with CActiveForm and i first put it in the layout/column1.php but it doesn’t work, after a while i tried to put it on site/inddex.php and it worked… the problem is that i need that damn form in the column1.php cause i’m building a 3 cols website where the left and right cols are always the same… so i thought to put the form there but i get this error :

Fatal error: Call to a member function isAttributeRequired() on a non-object in /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/discodisco/framework/web/helpers/CHtml.php on line 1179

so my question is how do i get cactiveform working on column1.php or how do i get a 3cols template without repeat on each page the same code (that will cause a big headache if in the future i’ll need to modify something)

i’'ll appreciate the help that you’ll give to me.

Every controller has a specific layout attribute.

<?php

class SiteController extends Controller

{

public $layout='column1';

If you want to change layout, change it!

Yii rocks!

In the layout you don’t have access to the data passed in the call to render(). But you still are in the controller scope.

You may want to have a closer look at portlets. Here’s the API reference.

Note that the portlet won’t examine posted data until instantiated in the view. I think a more intuitive structure could be used for portlets containing model data that needs to be saved. My consideration here is with regard to execution flow.

1. Either a "container" component that will be used for validating and saving posted data then called again from the view code for instantiating an aggregated widget.

2. Or a portlet extended with a data handling method that will be called from the controller action just after the instance is created (renderContent() will of course be called from the view/layout).