Bootswatch Theme switcher

i assume that everyone knows bootswatch.com, i like to have a theme selector that lets users select the current theme. a nice example of such an theme switcher in actions is https://patrikx3.com/en/front/about-me where he added all bootswatch themes to a pull-down menu.

lets assume that i have converted all these bootstrap themes to working yii2 themes and that they live in my themes folder. how to implement such a user selector pull-down menu? i am completely new to Yii2, could someone breakdown the step on how this could be done? (how to create the pull-down menu, i probably will manage, my question is mostly about how to configure the app instance to register all themes and allow to easily switch between them.)

Hi,

I provide a Yii2 app template at:

which uses the raoul2000/yii2-bootswatch-asset extention.

Feel free to look at assets/AppAsset.php about how this is implemented.

Other relevant files:

• config/params-local.php.sample: Default theme
  • views/layouts/main.php: Show menu item to switch a theme

Hope this helps.

Regards

Joachim

Thanks, for your project template. Im working on creating my first stable template that i can use for my yii projects, and your template is kind of a more complex version of what i was planning to make. This would be a good starting point for me. So I like to better understand you template.

For some reason i am having problems running the migrations, so i did not fully tried everything jet, but like to ask some basic questions first.

I see that the: dektrium/yii2-user and dektrium/yii2-rbac are deprecated. And that the Yii2 framework (now) has its own default RBAC (https://www.yiiframework.com/doc/guide/2.0/en/security-authorization#rbac) so then my question is can i safely switch to the yii’s default RBAC? If the default is missing some important stuff, is there an (actively) maintained (or at least not deprecated) RBAC extension you could recommend?