Begintransaction() Fails

I suspect the issue is that the db connection thinks it is dealing with the MyISAM engine, even though each of the tables is InnoDB. The following line fails: $trans = $model->dbConnection->beginTransaction();

Any suggestions?

EDIT: I also tried $trans = Yii::app()->db->beginTransaction(); - same failure

I was using Yii::app()->db->beginTransaction();

$dao = Yii::app()->db;

$transaction = $dao->beginTransaction();

try {

$cmd = $dao->createCommand($query1);

$cmd->execute();

$cmd2 = $dao->createCommand($query2);

$cmd2->execute();

$transaction->commit();

return true;

} catch (Exception $e) { // If any of query failed then roll back.

$transaction->rollBack();

return false;

}

Thank you! That’s the code structure I was using, and I did try Yii::app()->db->beginTransaction() as well. No luck.

What do you mean by "it fails"? Is there an error?

Thanks everyone. I may have something else going awry. I’m new to Yii but not to PHP or MySQL. This test case does hit the exception:

$trans = Yii::app()->db->beginTransaction();

$trans->commit();

throw new CException("Test case stops here");

I found I need to redesign that code sequence in any event. Forty million inserts using Active Record just plain takes too long! It’s a batch process importing comma-separated-value data, which means I ought to be able to run a lot faster with PDO building the SQL commands once and binding new data each import row.

(EDIT: “load data” won’t work for me because I’m doing multiple inserts per row. The 200 or so columns exceed the 65,536 maximum row length. I’m spreading the result across various normalized tables. Brute force fgetcsv() seems the best approach.)

I sincerely appreciate the rapid responses here. I won’t be shy next time I get stuck!

Ed Barnard

Cannon Falls MN

Is that a pure import process? If so, MySQL understands CSV as a storage format. I wonder if that weren’t a lot faster …