Basic Filtering

Hello All,

Newbie here and I am looking for some basic guidance on how to filter a table. As I am getting to understand yii I am finding that more complexed issues have very easy solutions, as I am sure is the case here. I have 1 table called clients and a client can be active, prospect, or a cold lead. I have 3 different model and controllers for the table as well as 3 different menu items. My guess is that there is a way to filter the records in the different models, but I am not sure how to do this. I was going to write a SQL statement to do it, but since many thing in yii are simple I decided to look into the filtering of the records.

So I have a couple of questions to ask, first is filtering the best way to handle the records and if so, what is the approach I should take to archive it?

Thank you in advance for your time and guidance.

Michael

First of all, make sure you’re really need these three(!) models. Common practice is one table = one model (except some twisted cases).

Next, consider using named scopes for filtering clients by type. In your case it might look like this:

$active_clients = Client::model()->active()->findAll();

If you really need to use more than one model per table, consider creating some "base" model and extending its class.

PS. Actually, I suppose I’ve not understood the question, so maybe you can elaborate.

This looks like partitioning by inheritance in SQL, where you have very similar tables. You put all data into one, create different, updatable views with a simple condition or tables that inherit from the main one.

But you don’t have to do that, you can use named scopes just as ORey suggested.

As for filtering it depends on how complex you want the search form to be and how many features should it have. I could give three examples:

• quick search using one text box

• search form embedded in table header that allows searching in each displayed attribute