Array Of Model In Form

Hey there.

I’m pretty new to yii and not sure if there is a solution for this. I did some searching, but did not find a good way for my problem. Well, more a question than a problem.

So I have a model and created a crud with gii. The model contains a serialized array when stored to the db, so my question is what’s the best way to fill this array with values in a form, for the crud only gives me a textarea. My idea was to pass the array via the render function to the view (form), but I can’t (?) use the the ActiveForm widget then to add the textfields for the individual fields of the member array of the model. So they are also not validated on submit (which is not that dramatic), but would be good to know.

Any help or suggestens are pretty much appreciated. :)

Fussel

Hello and welcome to the forum.

Here’s what you can do:

1. Create virtual attribute in your model, say, categoryIds. Like this:

public $categoryIds = array();

1. create afterFind() trigger in your model, that will populate this attribute with deserialized values. For example:

public function afterFind()

{

$this->categoryIds = explode(',', $this->categories); // deserialize here 

return parent::afterFind();

}

where ‘categories’ is the name of real table field where your values are stored.

1. create beforeSave trigger in your model, to serialize values back to the table. For example:

public function beforeSave()

{

$this->categories = implode(',', $this->categoryIds); // serialize here

return parent::beforeSave();

}

1. use virtual attribute name (categoryIds) for creating form inputs like checkbox list or something.

That’s it.

Also you can create custom validation rules (see dosc on validation) to make all the required checks on that field.

PS. Btw you can use getters and setters for that too:

public function getCategoryIds()

{

return explode(',', $this->categories);

}

public function setCategoryIds($values)

{

$this->categories = implode(',', $values);