Applying A Defaultscope To A Model Based On The Attribute Of A Related Model

Hi guys. Noob here.

I am trying to figure out how trim all my listings of models. Trying to use defaultScope but running into problems and wondering if it’s the right way to go.

The 3 pertinent models are User, Project and Task:

class User extends CActiveRecord

{

public function relations()

{

return array(

'projects' => array(self::HAS_MANY, 'Project', 'project_id'),

);

}

}

class Project extends CActiveRecord

{

{

return array(

'tasks' => array(self::HAS_MANY, 'Task', 'project_id'),

// This is always the user->id of the person who created the project

'user' => array(self::BELONGS_TO, 'User', 'user_id'),

);

}

}

class Task extends CActiveRecord

{

{

return array(

'project' => array(self::BELONGS_TO, 'Project', 'project_id'),

);

}

}

I would like the default behavior of the Project to be that it only shows the projects created by the logged in user. So I added a defaultScope to it like so:

class Project extends CActiveRecord

{

public function defaultScope() 

{

$user_id = Yii::app()->user->id ? Yii::app()->user->id : 0;

$alias = $this->tableName();

return array(

'alias' => $alias,

'condition' => "`$alias`.`user_id`=" . $user_id,

);

}

}

That works great. But I want the same behavior for the Task model. I want to only show Tasks related to a Project that was created by the currently logged in user. I’ve tried a lot of things, but this should give you an idea of what I thought would work:

class Task extends CActiveRecord

{

public function defaultScope() 

{

$user_id = Yii::app()->user->id ? Yii::app()->user->id : 0;

$alias = Project::model()->tableName();

return array(

'with' => array(

'project' => array(

'alias' => $alias,

'condition' => "`$alias`.`user_id`=" . $user_id,

),

),

);

}

}

I’ve tried fiddling with the alias and the condition but I always get an exception similar to: